Marijuana Laws in Alaska
Alaska has, to a certain extent, decriminalized cannabis. First offenses for possession of 1oz or less of marijuana in your residence or home will not attract a jail sentence or a criminal record; mostly it will be viewed in the same way as a minor traffic violation.
Possession of larger amounts or sale of any amounts will attract penalties: the maximum penalty for possession is 5 years in jail and $50,000 fine; maximum penalty for supply is the same.
Medical Marijuana Use in Alaska
- Possession: patients (or their primary caregivers) may legally possess no more than one ounce of usable marijuana.
- Cultivation: patients (or their primary caregivers) may legally cultivate no more than six marijuana plants, of which no more than three may be mature.
- Registration: a confidential state-run patient registry issues identification cards to qualifying patients.
- Caregivers: caregivers must be no younger than 21 years and have never had a felony conviction connected with controlled substances. The patient may list one primary caregiver and one alternate caregiver in the registry and caregivers may only be listed for one patient at a time. The chosen caregiver must be certified by the patient as being either the primary or alternate caregiver, “unless the primary caregiver or alternate caregiver is simultaneously caring for two or more patients who are related to the caregiver by at least the fourth degree of kinship by blood or marriage.”
To register with the Alaska Medical Marijuana Program, download the medical marijuana applicant package or contact:Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
P.O. Box 110699
Juneau, AK 99811-0699